Surabaya – My Studio Hotel

I am a fan of Japanese capsule hotel, since my first experience in Sapporo. That is why when I found this capsule-look-a-like hotel in Indonesia, I could not help to try!

Location: Surabaya, East Java, Indonesia
Ideal for: Solo or duo, budget travel
Rate: IDR 150,000 (€10) per person per night
Nearest station: Surabaya Gubeng

I have visited Surabaya for dozens of times, since I have families who reside in the region. My parents had brought me to explore the whole province when I was a kid, but I never really spent a night in the hotels because we always stayed at a relative’s.  This time, I decided to break the chain and stay at this uncommon hotel.

The studio is surprisingly close to the main station, Surabaya Gubeng, which is also located in the city centre. With its extremely cheap rates, I must say that this place is totally worth it!

The sleeping area is very clean and neat, and the bed gives a comfortable ambience with its wooden material and very soft lighting. Each pod is covered with a pull-on shade that gives us enough privacy. They also provide a secured luggage storage below the bed with IDR 100,000 (€7) deposit–they will return the money after checking out.

Mu Studio Surabaya - lobby
Guests at the hotel lobby. Photo taken from: booking.com

Not only they provide a full service–including breakfast, free wifi, towel, and even a prayer room–it is also a good place to meet people with different origins and destinations.

On my visit, I met people who came either for work or leisure: students who intended to travel nearby Surabaya to collect data for their dissertations; young workers who needed to attend some meetings and wanted to cut the budget; international travellers who wanted to visit Mount Bromo; or people like me who just wanted to stroll around the city.

As someone who loves the vibes of a youth hostel where all kinds of travellers meet, I highly recommend this place!

PS: Shower rooms are very limited compared to the number of beds, while Indonesians normally shower two times a day. So, it may be pretty crowded in the morning since they don’t have separate toilets!

3 thoughts on “Surabaya – My Studio Hotel

  1. Interesting. So, by your feet you have some kind of “blinds” to pull down for privacy? I am not sure I could stay in one of those though since I get claustrophobic quite easily but I see how they can be practical.

    Like

    1. Yes, the blinds is either at the end of your feet or your side; they have two kinds of bed. I am claustrophobic myself, but surprisingly fine with it!
      But if you aren’t sure about that, maybe you can ask for the side blinds-type 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

