Watford – Warner Bros Studio

Now, who doesn’t love Harry Potter? Even if you’re not a huge fan of this witchcraft and wizardry world, it is hard not to fall in love with this enchanting studio. Trust me!

Location: Watford, United Kingdom
Price: Check it here!
Suitable for: Full blood, half blood, mud blood, and even muggles!

IMG_2856
The bus to Warner Bros Studio London (Ok, that is a lie)

I must admit that once upon my life, I was a hardcore fan of Harry Potter series. I was once a normal teenager, so there’s nothing wrong with that, don’t you think? If I were in the same class with them, I believe I would beat Hermione!

Ok, enough with the introduction. Let’s move on.

This studio is located about an hour away from Central London area, which could be reached by taking London Midland train to Watford Junction. Then, you need to continue by taking a bus to the studio. The price is £2.5 return. There is also a coach service from London Victoria Station, which costs £10 (one way). If you have Oyster card, there is no need to book online, because you can pay as you go.

One thing that awed me when I first entered the studio was the introduction session. I will not tell you in detail (I know some of you hate spoilers!), but it was a brilliant way to welcome guests!

There is one certain thing why the place is called studio, it is because they really did some of the scenes there. The Great Hall, the dormitory, Dumbledore’s office, The Burrow, Godric’s Hollow, no. 4 Privet Drive, and even the castle, are all in there. I wonder how the actors feel when they did the shots, I must say that it feels like a dream. Daniel, Emma, Rupert, I envy you guys so much!

IMG_2892
This is how Hogwarts looks like when I left the studio on a helicopter ride (Of course, sorry, I lied again)

Now I know why the movie received so many awards. Let alone the costumes, make up and settings, which we all know they are extremely amazing. What stunned me the most is, the things I thought were CGI  are actually not. I was shocked finding out how Hagrid’s face is actually a robotic feature, while Buckbeak sits right there, moving his head around. The creatures are real–not literarily, but they are not just moving images, they are robots–how amazing is that?

I am always amazed on how movie production teams work, and I seriously want to know how it feels like working in it. This studio really helps us to see how wonderful, yet complicated it is. If I had a chance, I would love to join a production at least once in my life. Come on, producers out there, hire me, please? Lol.

One of my friends told me to come in winter, because it is renowned for the best theme. So, book online if you want to get the best price, as too many people want to come on winter break.

Extra tips: If you go with children, you can get a Passport book with quizzes inside. Collect the stamps, find the golden snitches, and you can exchange the book with a souvenir.

One thought on “Watford – Warner Bros Studio

Leave a Reply

